Pinter Receives a Letter . . .

In 1967, an anonymous woman, confused and frustrated after watching a production of one of Harold Pinter’s earliest plays, The Birthday Party, wrote a letter to the playwright:

Dear Sir,

I would be obliged if you would kindly explain to me the meaning of your play The Birthday Party.  These are the points which I do not understand: 1. Who are the two men? 2. Where did Stanley come from? 3. Were they all supposed to be normal?  You will appreciate that without the answers to my questions I cannot fully understand your play.

Pinter responded to the letter with the following:

Dear Madam,

I would be obliged if you would kindly explain to me the meaning of your letter.  These are the points which I do not understand: 1. Who are you? 2. Where do you come from? 3. Are you supposed to be normal?  You will appreciate that without the answers to these questions I cannot fully understand your letter.

 

Source: London Daily Mail (11/28/1967)

~ by mplspinterstudies on February 1, 2009.

One Response to “Pinter Receives a Letter . . .”

  1. i saw the play today in Stockholm and the director talked about this letter

Leave a comment