Pinter’s Nobel Lecture!

In 2005, Harold Pinter was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. Upon hearing that he would be the recipent of this most prestigious award, he was interviewed by Marika Griehsel, a freelance journalist, on October 13, 1985. Here is a transcript of their conversation:

– Hello. Good morning.
– Good morning, good morning, Mr Pinter. Congratulations. I’m calling from the official website of the Nobel Foundation.
– Yes. Well, thank you very much.
– It’s fantastic news for us here; and I would like to hear what your thoughts were when you received the news.
– Well, I’ve … I’ve been absolutely speechless. I am … I’m overwhelmed by the news, very deeply moved by the news. But I can’t really articulate what I feel.
– You didn’t have any idea it could come your way, did you?
– No idea whatsoever! No. So I’m just bowled over.
– There’s so much to talk about. But I would like just to ask you what, in your career, you think has been the most important, what has the most …
– I cannot answer … I can’t answer these questions.
– No, I understand.
– There’s nothing more I can say, except that I am deeply moved; and, as I say, I have no words at the moment. I shall have words by the time I get to Stockholm.
– You will be coming to Stockholm?
– Oh, yes.
– Okay. Thank you, Sir.
– Okay?
– Thank you.
– Thank you very much.
– Thank you.

To read Pinter’s fascinating Nobel Lecture, check out:

http://nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/literature/laureates/2005/pinter-lecture-e.html

Or, to see the video of his lecture, check out:

~ by mplspinterstudies on February 1, 2009.

Leave a comment